Home / anime game / Ro-Kyu-Bu! Light Novel Series Ends With 15th Volume

Ro-Kyu-Bu! Light Novel Series Ends With 15th Volume


Kadokawa published the 15th and final volume of Sagu Aoyama‘s Ro-Kyu-Bu! light novel series on Friday. Aoyama had already concluded the main storyline of the novels when he published the 13th volume of the series in July 2013, but he noted at the time that he would continue to publish side stories.

The main story of the novels centers around a high school freshman boy named Subaru Hasegawa. Subaru joined the basketball team, but the team stopped playing due to the captain being suspected of being a lolicon. Subaru then ends up as a coach of an elementary school’s basketball team withfive girls.

Aoyama published the first volume in the basketball light novel series in February 2009, with art by illustrator Tinkle. The novels inspired a television anime series in 2011, as well as a second television anime series in 2013. Sentai Filmworkslicensed the first series, and The Anime Network streamed the series as it aired.

The story also inspired several manga adaptations, including the main one by Yūki Takami. Additionally, the light novels have inspired three games for portable game systems. The latest of the games, Ro-Kyu-Bu! Naishō no Shutter, shipped for the PlayStation Vita in March 2014.

Kadokawa is also publishing Aoyama’s new light novel series Tenshi no 3P!. Kadokawa published the fifth volume of the light novel series on February 10.